Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more

So here it is once more 2300 hours on a Friday night, and instead of inflicting harm on my liver I am writing another blog for Technical Writing. I am noticing a trend here and while it may in fact be for the betterment of my body, all work and no play make Jack a dull boy.

Where to start, well after battling for 3 hours over the phone with Microsoft support to figure out how to view Dr. Martins comments on my cover letter and resume, I found a forum on which someone had a similar problem and was answered by someone else who stated that Mac Word doesn’t support handwritten comments. Alas, I shall have to lower myself to utilize a PC and print off the documents so I can adjust them accordingly to the guidance set forward by Dr. Martin.

I have officially dropped Calculus I, now I can serve my due diligence towards my other courses. I was spending upwards of 4 to 5 hours a day in tutoring for this class and still had an overall grade of under 40%. SOMETHING just wasn’t clicking and hopefully I can figure out what it was before next semester because this is a class that is required for me to graduate from the Electronics Engineering Technology (EET) program. Dr. Loomis suggested I re-take pre-calculus (GAG) which is not necessarily a bad thing but I feel as if it would be a drastic step backwards. We shall see what becomes of this. With all this time devoted to one class, my other ones have surely been suffering and slipping down a slope into the vast abyss of mediocrity, and simply fulfilling requirements to the bare minimum is not my forte so now I shall have more time to devote to bringing my grades back up.

The group project is coming along swimmingly; we are now making a cookbook for healthy meals under a budget of ten dollars each. I feel like we should be doing more for this project, we haven’t accomplished much and I do not want to butt in and take over the project but we really need to get the ball rolling. I am just not sure how and as to what direction. Everyone seems to legitimately care about the project overall but there seems to be a vast amount of uncertainty as to what we are supposed to be doing for it.

The reading for class has fallen by the wayside, I have A LOT of catching up to do. Everything I have read so far for this class has been extremely helpful and seems to be helping to better myself to a certain extent. I just need to get off my fourth point of contact and get going with it. The only person I am cheating by not doing this reading is myself and I will continue to get out of this course what I put into it, just like my other courses.

Class has been going well, Dr. Martin was late the other day due to a funeral and some of my colleagues took it as a chance to duck out early. He was not pleased, but did give extra credit to those who stayed and waited for him. I felt bad for him, I am sure it was not an easy day to begin with and that really put the icing on the cake. But with that my 550 words are up and I shall leave you as usual with

-Charlie Savage

Leave a comment